We have updated our website and myADLS. To access your myADLS account, please reset your password by using the “Forgot password” option or Click Here. If you need further assistance, contact us at helpdesk@adls.org.nz or 09 871 1385.

Back Home 5 Committee 5 Mental Health and Disability
Mental Health and Disability
The Mental Health and Disability Law Committee is made up of experienced practitioners who work across a range of practice areas to assist clients who have specific mental health needs or specific needs resulting from a disability. The Committee liaises closely with a wide range of stakeholders in the mental health and disability sector including the Ministry of Health, Ministry of Justice, Mental Health District Inspectors, the Legal Services Commissioner and secure care facilities throughout Auckland.

Committee members, October 2022 – September 2024:

  1. Julian Hague – Sole Practitioner (Committee Convenor)
  2. His Honour Judge Phil Recordon – District Court Judge
  3. Joan Davis – Barrister sole
  4. Karol Hadlow – Barrister sole
  5. Sonya Singh – Barrister sole, Halcyon Chambers
  6. Pat Scriven – Sole Practitioner
  7. Warren Brookbanks – Professor, Auckland University of Technology
  8. Kate Diesfeld – Professor, Auckland University of Technology
  9. Guyon Foley – Barrister sole

Equal Justice Project (EJP) student representatives on the Committee, 2022 calendar year:

  • Sonia Mehta, Law student at the University of Auckland

Interested in joining the Committee?

Applications for Committee membership for October 2022 – September 2024 have closed. However if you remain interested in joining please email Committee.Secretary@adls.org.nz.