We have updated our website and myADLS. To access your myADLS account, please reset your password by using the “Forgot password” option or Click Here. If you need further assistance, contact us at helpdesk@adls.org.nz or 09 871 1385.

Back Home 5 Committee 5 Property Law
Property Law
The Property Law Committee is one of ADLS’s longest standing Committees and is influential in the development of property law and practice. Committee members all have expertise in property law and liaise with a range of stakeholders in the property law sector including LINZ, REINZ, Auckland Council, the Courts and the Tenancy Tribunal to develop solutions to a range of property law issues.

Upcoming focus

The Committee has worked closely with LINZ and the Retirement Commissioner on various projects and will continue the work in those spaces. In addition, with an aging population and the volatility in the property market, the Committee is prepared to respond or be proactive on relevant topics – such as retirement village agreements, sunset clauses, earthquake-prone provisions in leases, and mortgagee sales.

Interested to join?

Committee membership applications for the term October 2022 – September 2024 have now closed. If you remain interested in joining, please contact Committee.Secretary@adls.org.nz.


The Committee meets once a month in-person on the second Monday of each month at 1pm. An online option is offered to out-of-town committee members to participate in the monthly meetings.

Committee members are expected to contribute in:

  • Drafting of submissions, Bills, and/or letters;
  • Representing the Committee at stakeholders meetings;
  • Writing articles, or being interviewed, for LawNews;
  • Assisting ADLS CPD; and/or
  • Providing subject matter expert input to the work of ADLS Documents & Precedents Committee.

Committee membership for October 2022 – September 2024:

  1. Stella Chan – Partner, Forest Harrison (Committee Co-Convenor)
  2. Tina Hwang – Senior Associate, Queen City Law (Committee Co-Convenor)
  3. Bryce Town – Partner, Morrison Kent
  4. Justin March – Partner, DLA Piper
  5. Mark Robinson – Sole Practitioner, Sandringham Law
  6. Joanna Pidgeon – Director, Pidgeon Judd
  7. Todd Whitcombe – Director, Whitcombe Law
  8. Liza Fry-Irvine – Director, Liza Fry-Irvine Law
  9. Kate Sheehan – Director, Kate Sheehan Lawyers
  10. Anthea Coombes – Partner, Glaister Ennor
  11. Joanthan Simons – Special Counsel, PwC Legal
  12. John Jon – Senior Associate, law.nz
  13. Richard Chen – Senior Associate, Hesketh Henry
  14. Emma Toseland – Senior Solicitor, McCaw Lewis

Equal Justice Project (EJP) student representatives on the Committee, 2023 calendar year:

    • Ria Shon – Student at the University of Auckland

Interested in joining the Committee?

Applications for Committee membership for October 2022 – September 2024 have closed. However if you remain interested in joining please email Committee.Secretary@adls.org.nz.


No Submissions at this time.