We have updated our website and myADLS. To access your myADLS account, please reset your password by using the “Forgot password” option or Click Here. If you need further assistance, contact us at helpdesk@adls.org.nz or 09 871 1385.

Back Home 5 Committee 5 Trust Law
Trust Law
The Trust Law Committee was originally established to provide extensive feedback on behalf of the profession to the Government on the landmark reforms the Trusts Act. The Committee is comprised of highly experienced practitioners from a range of law firms as well as barristers in sole practice.

Since the reforms gradually came into force, the focus of the Committee has moved to educating the profession on the reforms through an extensive CPD programme and a wide range of LawNews articles.

More recently, the Committee has provided significant input to Inland Revenue on the reporting requirements of domestic trusts. The Committee’s expertise in the interface of taxation and trust laws is recognised by IRD and the Committee has since been invited to comment on a range of proposals, including on foreign trust remedials, changes to the bright-line test and rollover reliefs.

Upcoming focus

It is expected that, in 2023, the Committee will focus heavily on the reform of succession law (anticipating the government will respond to the Law Commission’s Final Report 145 by then).

Committee members also involve heavily in the planning and delivery of the annual Cradle to Grave conference, in conjunction with the CPD Committee.


The Committee meets once a month online for an hour on the first Wednesday of each month at 1pm. It is anticipated, when the new term commences in October 2022, the meeting day will change to the third Wednesday of each month at 1pm.

Committee members are expected to contribute in:

  • Drafting of submissions, Bills, and/or letters;
  • Representing the Committee at stakeholders meetings;
  • Writing articles, or being interviewed, for LawNews; and/or
  • Assisting the planning and/or delivery of ADLS CPD.

Junior Committee members may be invited to assist with drafting and/or conducting legal research.


Committee members, October 2022 – September 2024:

  1. Bill Patterson – Partner, Patterson Hopkins (Committee Convenor)
  2. Lisa Small – Partner, Duncan Cotterill
  3. Sonja Clapham – Barrister sole, Shortland Chambers
  4. Anthony Grant – Barrister sole, Paladin Chambers
  5. John Hart – Barrister sole
  6. Andrew Steele – Barrister sole, Princes Chambers
  7. Richard Thompson – Barrister sole, Park Chambers
  8. Simon Weil – Partner, Anthony Harp
  9. Stephen Tomlinson – Sole Practitioner, Tomlinson Law
  10. Vicki Ammundsen – Director, Vicki Ammundsen Trust Law
  11. Emma Tonkin – Partner, Hesketh Henry
  12. Claudia Shan – Partner, Cone Marshall
  13. Henry Brandts-Giesen – Partner, Dentons Kensington Swan
  14. Aimee Mitchell – Partner, TGT Legal
  15. Amanda Hockley – Director, McCaw Lewis
  16. Katrina Wood – Partner, Saunders Robinson Brown
  17. Peter Orpin – Special Counsel, Lane Neave
  18. Richard Broad- Senior Associate, Simpson Grierson
  19. Stephanie Kalburgi – Senior Associate, Chapman Tripp
  20. Sacha Jugum – Senior Solicitor, Brookfields
  21. Tony Pearce – Consultant Solicitor, Spencer West LLP and Richard Nelson LLP
  22. Polina Kozlova – Associate, Martelli McKegg
  23. Priscilla Brown- Sole Practitioner, Priscilla Brown, Barrister and Solicitor

Interested in joining the committee?

Thank you for your interest. This Committee is currently at full complement and is not recruiting new members.


No Submissions at this time.